Youth in Government Honors

Mrs. Jenny Pratt and Mr. Davis Smith took 46 students to the YMCA Youth in Government Conference April 4 in Nashville. The 8 officers and 38 delegates won four awards, two top-20 delegate recognitions, and seven 2020 leadership roles. Award winners:
• Senior Jory Meyers earned Outstanding Delegate of the Red Senate 
• Junior Cameron Evans won Outstanding Member of the Press
• Sophomores Fawwaz Omer and Will Schuessler won Outstanding Senior Brief of the Supreme Court
• Freshman Christopher Yarbro earned Outstanding Delegate of Blue House
Of the 650 delegates attending, the top 20 are named to the Conference on National Affairs. Seniors Wood Davis and Meyers earned this honor.
Eight Owls served as YIG officers this year – more than any other school in the state. Next year MUS will have an equally strong presence with the following newly appointed officers:
• Junior Reid Chandler, Clerk of the White Senate
• Junior Jack Fernandez, White House Speaker Pro-Temp
• Junior Vijdan Gill, Chief Justice of Supreme Court
• Junior Tre Johnson, Sergeant at Arms of Blue Senate
• Junior Devin Malone, Sergeant at Arms of Red House
• Sophomore Harmon Colvett, Attorney General of TN
• Sophomore Fawwaz Omer, Associate Justice of Supreme Court