Owls Earn YIG Tristar Honors

Thirty-one students participated in the virtual 2021 Youth in Government Tristar Conference on April 8-11, bringing home a handful of awards including four spots in the top 25 participants.

Juniors Vincent Ores and Christopher Yarbro and sophomores Parth Mishra and Kyan Ramsay were among the top 25 Tennessee delegates and were chosen for the Conference on National Affairs (CONA), the highest honor a delegate can receive.
The sophomore lawyer team of Amar Kanakamedala and Jack Zaptin won Final Case Lawyer Team and Outstanding Novice Lawyer Team. The freshman team of Qasim Akbar, Lee Couloubaritsis, and Tyler Dang won Outstanding Bill. Sophomores Aryaan Ahmed and Nicholas Tam and freshmen Couloubaritsis and Harrison Goetze each received Outstanding Delegate.

MUS had seven students serve as statewide officers this year: seniors Harmon Colvett, Griffin Hood, Fawwaz Omer, Will Schuessler; junior Yarbro; and sophomores Mishra and Ramsay. MUS students made up 20% of officer roles while only composing 10% of total participation in the conference. 

Six students have already been chosen for officer positions for the 2022 conference: sophomore Hamza Janjua as Speaker of the White House, Kanakamedala as Solicitor General, Mishra as the governor’s Chief of Staff, Ramsay as Speaker Pro Tempore of the Red House, Yarbro as Senate Floor Leader of the Red House, and Zaptin as Associate Justice of the Supreme Court.

More News

List of 100 news stories.

More News