NHS Inducts 62 Owls

The Memphis University School chapter of the National Honor Society inducted 62 members from the junior and senior classes in a ceremony March 24.

Dr. David Jackson, chair of the selection committee, welcomed students and families to the ceremony while speaking on wisdom and the National Honor Society principles. Senior members then addressed the four pillars of the society, lighting candles to correspond with each trait: Amar Kanakamedala on scholarship, Parth Mishra on leadership, Carter Campbell on character, and John Lee on service.
Current NHS members tapped the new members, and Assistant Headmaster Barry Ray and Assistant Upper School Principal Mark Counce ’77 offered congratulatory handshakes and certificates. Headmaster Pete Sanders delivered the charge and congratulated the honorees before a reception in the Dining Hall.

“In attaining this level of recognition, you have demonstrated mastery of the academic life at a school that asks much of its students. And perhaps more important, as National Honor Society members, you have laid down a record of service to the greater good, exuded good character, and taken on a leadership role.”

Membership in the National Honor Society is one of the highest honors a high school student can attain. In selecting the honorees, a committee considers juniors and seniors who have at least a 3.50 cumulative weighted GPA. Evaluating student activity forms and leadership/service questionnaires prepared by the candidates as well as faculty recommendations and evaluations, the committee looks for evidence of extraordinary scholarship, character, leadership, and service while at MUS. 

See photos from the event and reception HERE. Congratulations to the inductees!

Class of 2023
Aryaan Ahmed
Nathan Chambers
Drew Clift
Jack Fortas
Nickolas Mathews
Spencer Norris
Heiskell Weatherford

Class of 2024
Qasim Akbar
Parks Applegate
Mac Barcroft
Kai Barnes
Parker Blackwell
Pritchard Brooksbank
Griffin Brown
Samuel Callan
Lee Couloubaritsis
Tyler Dang
Bryan Ding
Dannie Dong
Henry Duncan
Luke Early
Harry Feild
Jack Fowler
Jorge Garcia
Harrison Goetze
Will Gramm
Nathaniel Griffin
Jack Haddad
Will Hess
Kristopher Horne
Martin Kerlan
Jordan Kirshbaum
Andrew Kuhlo
Clayton Kuhlo
Caleb Latkovic
Joel Lim
Henry Lindeman
Tucker Lowery
Gates Luton
Sai Madasu
Zander Mathes
John McAllister
Wyatt McAllister
Catcher Miller
Brandon Nicholson
Ihsan Omer
Bennett Owen
Parth Patel
Eshaan Patnaik
Hays Prather
Cooper Shannon
Owen Sharp
Will Skinner
Andrew Tancredi
Wilson Thakkar
Charlie Treadwell
Worrick Uhlhorn
Marley White
Fenton Wright
Evan Wu
Seth Yarbrough
Alan Zhou