NHS Inducts 73 Owls

The Memphis University School chapter of the National Honor Society inducted 73 members from the junior and senior classes in a ceremony March 22.
Instructor in Religion Clay Smythe ’85, chair of the selection committee, welcomed students and families to the ceremony while speaking of the National Honor Society principles. Senior members then addressed the four pillars of the society, lighting candles to correspond with each trait: Alan Zhou on scholarship, Tyler Dang on leadership, Seth Yarbrough on character, and John McAllister on service.

Current NHS members tapped the new members, and Assistant Upper School Principal Mark Counce ’77 offered congratulatory handshakes after the inductees signed the National Honor Society ledger. Headmaster Pete Sanders delivered the charge and congratulated the honorees.

“In attaining this level of recognition, you have demonstrated mastery of the academic life at a school that asks much of its students. And perhaps more important, as National Honor Society members, you have laid down a record of service to the greater good, exuded good character, and taken on a leadership role.”

Membership in the National Honor Society is one of the highest honors a high school student can attain. In selecting the honorees, a committee considers juniors and seniors who have at least a 3.50 cumulative weighted GPA. Evaluating student activity forms and leadership/service questionnaires prepared by the candidates as well as faculty recommendations and evaluations, the committee looks for evidence of extraordinary scholarship, character, leadership, and service while at MUS. 

See photos from the event and reception HERE. Congratulations to the inductees!

Class of 2024
Steve Milton Blen
Kenneth Ousley Cooper II
Hayes Dougan Graham
John Charles Jarratt
Ross Maxwell Kaye
William Thomas Lamar Mallory
Leonard Talbert Thomas
Samuel Gus Wilson
Benjamin Carroll Wunderlich, Jr.

Class of 2025
Luke Shi Akers
Nathan Hall Akin
Bryan Walker Billups
Mark Thompson Boatright
Charles Talbot Bragg
Noah Cameron Brooks
Edward Louis Brundick IV
Patrick Thomas Burke, Jr.
Thomas Carothers Byrnes, Jr.
Amrik Chakravarty
Joephen Lin Chen
Colton Edward Childress
Stewart Hyde Crabtree
William Christopher Craft
Thomas Hudson Davis
Timothy Edward Davis III
Houston Barrett Donato
Ammar Abdulnasir Duldul
Tyler Christopher Edmundson
Charlie Jacob Engelberg
Hunter Stokes Fair
Connor Wayne Ford
Preston Bennett Frazer, Jr.
Wills Findley Frazer, Jr.
Ethan Alexander Friday
Abraham Samuel Friedman
Sohan Neel Ganguli
Wilkes Alston Gowen
Diego Antonio Guerrero Viloria
Emmett Palmer Halliday
Thomas Worthington Jones IV
Coleman Lee Kimmel
Chrishton Jermaine King
Sudeep Kundavajjala
William McCullough Ladd
Oscar Liu
Yunhao Liu
Declan Robert Lonergan
Palmer Bishop Lowery
Marcus Jonathan McCullers
Lynus Michael Meske
Stanton Maxwell Miller
Henry Landon Mills
Bennett Calhoun Morrow
Sujay Razdan-Muthanna Mukatira
Stephen Thomas Nash, Jr.
Andrew Esosa Ogbeide
Kushal Dharmesh Patel
Joel Joseph Paul
John Mitchell Redd
Davis Eugene Rudd
Samuel Hays Schroerlucke
Paxton Robert Silver
Aidan Phipps Smith
Daniel Carson Smith
William Cooper Solberg
George Vieths Steffens V
Robert Hall Thompson
Gabriel Ramon Ungab
Joshua Ramon Ungab
Luke Preston Walters
Samuel Peter West
Alexander James Yong
Ethan James Zaptin